Photos, Craft, Life

Victoria Sponge Cake

Leave a comment

I don’t usually do that much baking but I’ve now made 2 cakes in the space of about a week.

I do find cooking and baking quite therapeutic and homemade food always tastes so much better than things out of a packet.

I go in phases with baking and can go for ages without doing any at all –  maybe I’m just getting into the spirit of the Great British Bake Off.

Victoria sponge is probably my favourite cake, depending on what mood I’m in because sometimes it’s chocolate.

I used a Mary Berry recipe and filled the cake with strawberry jam and buttercream (made by mixing together 50g butter with 100g icing sugar. That’s roughly 2 ounces of butter and 4 ounces of icing sugar if you’re imperial :)).

It was another very straightforward recipe and made a really light, buttery cake, which went down very well, as the empty plates show :).

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers