Photos, Craft, Life

Homemade Peanut Butter



I was making breakfast the other day and really fancied peanut butter on toast but we’d run out of peanut butter and I didn’t really feel like going out to buy some as I was quite tired.

I found half a bag of roasted unsalted peanuts in the cupboard so I thought I’d try making some nut butter as I’d never done it before.

Just nuts and a food processor

I’m not sure of the exact quantity but going by the original weight of the bag of peanuts I’d say I used around 100g of nuts, maybe a little more than that.

Our food processor has a smaller insert that fits inside the main processor bowl and I used that as I was only making a small amount.


So I just whizzed up the peanuts and every so often stopped to scrape down the sides with a plastic spatula.

You do need to be patient, give it time and keep scraping but eventually it will start to clump together a bit more.

At that point just keep going until it reaches the texture you want. You might also find that you don’t need to stop and scrape quite as often now too.

I think it took at least 5-10 minutes but eventually, what started out as peanuts started to looked a lot more creamy.

Added extras

These peanuts had had their dark brown ‘skin’ removed (not sure if that’s the right word but I hope you know what I mean) so that’s why the peanut butter is quite light in colour.

I usually buy peanut butter that just has salt added to it but no sugar so I added a little bit of salt, whizzed it a bit more and then spread it on my toast.

Because it had been whizzed in the food processor for so long the peanut butter had become quite warm. I left it to cool before putting it in an airtight container and storing it in the fridge.

I’m not sure whether it’s cheaper to make peanut butter rather than buy it but I might give almond or cashew butter a go next time as that tends to be more expensive to buy.

I also don’t know how long it would keep for – I don’t think I’ll find that out as it’s going to get eaten before it has the chance to go off.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter

  1. WOW!! I need to have a go at this! :)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers